Stranded at Sea

This is a poem I wrote earlier this year by putting Psalms 42-43 into my own words. I’m really feeling it today, and have been reading it to myself to encourage myself – so I thought I’d share it in case it resonates with you too 🙂


I thirst for You,

Like I’m stranded at sea

I thirst for You, God

Where can I find You?

These salty tears cannot quench my thirst

I’m drowning in their flood

An ocean of doubts asking

‘Where is your God?’

And I don’t know!


My heart breaks when I think of how we were

Before the flood came and swept us away

When we were so close

And You were so here

And I led Your praise

And it seemed so simple…


Oh my soul, be still

Why are you so down,

So troubled and disturbed?

Put your hope in God who rescues;

Once again you will praise.


My lungs are breaking

From screaming for help

Crying for home

Holding my breath

Waves are breaking over my head

The cries of the deep ring in my ears

And I’m overwhelmed

Out of control…


God, be the love that drives my days!

God, be the song of my soul at night!

This is a prayer for my life!

You are my rescuer

Have You forgotten me?

Will You let me be swept away by the sea

Or crushed in the depths?

Where is my God?


Oh my soul, be still

Why are you so down,

So troubled and disturbed?

Put your hope in God who rescues;

Once again you will praise.


God, I am Yours!

My purpose is Yours

My plans are Yours

Save me for Yourself!

You are my rescuer

Have You forgotten me?

Will You let me be swept away by the sea?


Let me see daylight again

Throw me truth I can cling to

Fill my lungs with air

And I’ll sing it back to You

Safe in Your arms

I will be content

I will sing to You my God


Oh my soul, be still

Why are you so down,

So troubled and disturbed?

Put your hope in God who rescues;

Once again you will praise.

2 thoughts on “Stranded at Sea

Leave a Reply

