Looking for Europe 5: Cologne, the family gathering

May 31st

Alas we had to leave Basel! We travelled to Köln, and had a short time to look around the cathedral and hang out in the hostel before it was show time again!

We immediately met some friends outside the venue and hung out chatting to them and other SwitchFam for a while. Then Jon came out, and came over to us; we said hi and I told him we’d managed to book new trains and that I was so excited as I’m as much a fan of his solo work as Switchfoot. He wouldn’t look at my requests; he said it’s not how it works, I’d have to add them to the pieces of paper at the show and build the set list like that! Then suddenly some other fans noticed him, and he got somewhat mobbed for autographs and selfies! That would have been me two years ago! He’s so sweet, and it was really lovely seeing fans meeting him for the first time, though I feel a bit bad for him.

At the sound check before we got let in we heard them playing a song we didn’t recognise – was it a cover, or a new song?!? And then Lonely Nation and Saltwater Heart, oh how we wanted to be in there!! Eventually they let us in, and the treats continued as they played Restless and, on request, What It Costs! Tim was brilliant, despite forgetting the words, it was a very special moment. Here are my videos of Restless and What It Costs; unfortunately I meant it when I said I’d taken too many picures in Basel and my camera was getting so full it wasn’t filming properly, so there’s a couple of recording gaps, but you get the idea.

The venue was beautiful, an old theatre with red curtains and retro lighting, and a modern café out front with coloured glass blocks in the walls and ceilings ‘where the light shines through’. We met some more lovely fans, a fun guy visiting from the US, and several Latin American fans.

At Meet ‘n’ Greet my t-shirt (the Wonderlands bird) got some comments, the guys said they don’t see many of those (I said it’s a favourite!), and they liked it (I handed Jon the credit for that!). Then I got my Where I Belong banner in the picture – we got in a mess holding it up somehow with me on the wrong side of it, and all ended up laughing in the picture and the guys mucking about with it, it was funny! Anyway I was next to Tim so I took the opportunity to thank him for playing What It Costs, that I’d wanted to hear that for a long time, and I told them that EP (The Edge Of The Earth, TEOTE) is my favourite. They said they thought it was good too! I told them I thought it was so well crafted. Tim said he wanted to play the song TEOTE (I said yeah!), and I said my dream was to hear Slow Down My Heartbeat live – I’d heard it just once on big speakers and it was huge, it would be epic live, they were like ‘wow, yeah!’ and Tim did impressions of the crashing drums (Drew – ‘definitely mouth drums there…’).

Then the show; Jude got to stand sidestage after the really awesome opening band (at one point all playing the drums at once, and breaking a piano stool at the end!). When we saw her appear there we all went crazy like she was the band, and she was working the crowd like a pro! It was so much fun!

20170531_211037

The set list was nothing new in spite of the awesome sound check, but it was amazing as the crowd was really hyped! Another fan (guy!) up front near me was ‘fangirling’ before they came on, asking if anyone could name one bad Switchfoot song as he didn’t think it possible – I told him even better, that there wasn’t one bad Jon Foreman song at all! I showed him my Wonderlands t-shirt and got a high five! But that crowd – wow! Crowd surfing, moshing, chanting, 3 encores..! Jon said again it was one of his favourite shows and thanked the crowd for making it.

They actually went mostly for gentler songs, a lot of ‘campfire’ with Only Hope, Hello Hurricane, Live It Well, Dare, 24. During the first encore we finally got a disco ball for Float, which was just the best thing ever, and I Won’t Let You Go and Dare. The second encore they played Stars and something else (we all have forgotten what it was – clearly enjoying ourselves too much to make a note of it!), and the third encore 24, with just Jon to begin with and the others coming on at the end. A lot of the concert I just spent soaking in the beautiful music (Only Hope, Dare, 24), or vocals (those yells on Float and especially WIB… wow!). They added Oh Gravity to the set but didn’t play Healer Of Souls. It was awesome though; Romey came to the front a lot, they all came over to where I was stood and at times could hardly be playing closer. Tim broke a sweat, the first time I’ve seen that as he always looks the definition of cool! And I high fived him and Chad at the end, and even Jon at one point – I don’t usually bother trying to touch the guys when they’re up front taking hands, but it felt right that time, I wanted to thank and congratulate them.

I got some eye contact from Jon and Drew at times, including when Jon was introducing Where I Belong and Where The Light Shines Through (WTLST) and he came over to where I was stood and looked to me as if to ask for the banners! When I gave him them he held them up and introduced them to the crowd ‘A friend of mine made this beautiful artwork…’ Wow! And this time he handed them back to me himself too 🙂 There was also a moment when Jon sang part of a song ‘with me’; quite often he’ll make eye contact with us whilst singing, but only for a line or less, but this was a good couple of lines, and we sang it to each other with big grins on both our faces! That was so much fun that I actually forgot which song it happened during, as immediately afterwards I was just left thinking ‘Wow, I can’t believe that just happened!!’!

I loved the way Jon was directing things tonight, I even noticed him calling what were effectively samba breaks in WTLST with the guys! And he’s got me in on the performance too! He’s really in charge 🙂

Then, naturally, there was an aftershow, over in the pretty square by the amazing old church down the street. He was going to play in the middle of the square but there was a disapproving-looking statue there, so Jon said ‘Let’s not play here, he doesn’t look very impressed!’ and took us over to the trees instead! He played Restless, June and Johnny (as good live as recorded! So lovely!), Just Rob Me (even funnier, he cracks me up!! We gave him a really great ‘traditional German’ YEEEEEEHAH!, much to the bemusement of passers by!), and Your Love Is Strong. He thanked us all for doing this at the end(!) and said that it’s so special to him – oh my heart!! I thanked him and totally let him go this time with the crowd following him. That was hard but absolutely the right thing to do.

I went back to the hostel with a bunch of other fam who were also staying there or nearby, singing songs in the street (Enough To Let Me Go, appropriate as I just did 🙂 ), and then back in the hostel on the guitar (I had a good growl by then from screaming so much, so it was fun to sing!) – Southbound Train, Vice Verses, Thrive, Learning To Breathe, This Is Your Life, all with all the JonForemanisms replicated exactly! An after-aftershow. I love the SwitchFam! What a beautiful night 🙂

Read Part 4 here and Part 6 here

 

3 thoughts on “Looking for Europe 5: Cologne, the family gathering

  1. Pingback: Looking for Europe 4: Basel, hidden treasure | Wide-Open Soul

  2. Pingback: Looking for Europe 6: in London, with Jon Foreman, for the first time | Wide-Open Soul

  3. Pingback: Looking for Europe: Reflections on the tour | Wide-Open Soul

Leave a Reply

